Congratulations to the Alabama 2013 SRBWI Hall of Fame Inductees!

Alabama SRBWI 2013 Hall of Fame Photo

Alabama SRBWI 2013 Hall of Fame Photo

L-R Seated (2013 Hall of Fame Inductees)
Faya Ora Rose Toure, Sylvia Gwen Hall Franklin, Rosetta Marsh Anderson, Lula Sellers Palmer, Yvonne D. Hampton

L-R Standing
Callie Greer, Sophia Bracy Harris, Georgette Norman, Sheryl Threadgill Matthews, Dr. Billie Jean Young (2009 Hall of Fame), Deborah Thomas

Alabama SRBWI 2013 Hall of Fame Photo Uncropped

The Hall of Fame Ceremony was hosted at the Rosa Parks Museum on Saturday, January 18th at 3:30 PM with Georgette Norman presiding.

Five Alabama were honored as a result of recognition from their communities: Rosetta Anderson, Camden (Wilcox County); Sylvia Gwen Hall Franklin, Union Springs (Bullock County); Yvonne D. Hampton, Pennington (Choctaw County); Lula Palmer, Castleberry (Conecuh County); and Faya Rose Toure, Selma (Dallas County).

AL SRBWI 2013 Hall of Fame Crowd

The SRBWI Hall of Fame was established as a result of a Share Your Heritage Workshop sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation in October 2004. It is a project of the Southern Rural Black Women’s Initiative, an organization that works to empower rural black women to advocate for economic and social justice in the south.

Montgomery Advertiser Coverage

WAKA Channel 8 Interview with Inductee Lula Palmer

To view the program: SRBWI 2013 Hall of Fame Program

Share with others!
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks